Florence & The Machine, Dublin’s Olympia, December 7th

20 02 2010

This was my first gig with my new D700. I was shitting myself on the bus with it. Seriously – travelling FROM Finglas TO town with a fancy camera isn’t good for the nerves. I made it easier by travelling in earlier than required. Which, fair enough, is something I always do – but I was especially early that night. Headed straight to the Olympia, got in and sat in the bar, checking I had everything until it got nearer to the first act.

The Temper Trap were up first. Pretty impressive show, but they were visually as dull as a beige room. Honestly. Don’t expect much from pretty boys with guitars.

Howver when Florence arrived the photo-pit was packed. Hot-Press, MCD (Dave, pictured in #2) and the Independent were all present as well as some other people I hadn’t met and a tour photographer. This didn’t really bother me though. They all hung to the left of the pit, getting her looking right into the frame for their publications and I had the rest of the pit to myself. Grand.

What surprises me most about some of the Pro-Photographers is how often they check their pictures – and the detail that they look at them in. Picture #1 is my favourite, and I’m sure that other than Dave, I was the only one snapping at the time. Everyone else was checking their files. Made no sense to me. Check a picture when you change settings, get it right, carry on ’til lighting changes. That’s the rule I use. Yes, I’m not making any money from it, but I’d like to think I’m getting some shots others aren’t.

Florence was a joy though. Swanning about, hugging mic-stands, interacting with the crowd as well as delivering one of the best live vocals I’ve ever heard, it’s not hard to see why she’s so popular. Though she comes across quite poorly sometimes in photos. She’s unquestionably gorgeous, but christ, there was many a picture taken that night where she looked proper ‘blokey’. I’m assured it’s just her “large shoulders”.

I was chuffed with the pictures. “Look at that ISO!” I thought to myself. I flicked through the images in the Olympia’s lobby afterwards, beaming to myself. Job done – Phil will be happy with these. I stepped outside and only remembered I had to get the bus home.

Christ. Wonder if a mugger will leave me alone if I feign Hepatitis…

All photos taken for State.ie. See review here.

Gear

Nikon D700, Sigma 24-70mm f2.8, ISO: 2500, Manual Mode

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 02 2010
Patrick Conboy

Great pics, great gig! 🙂

20 02 2010
Sean (author)

Cheers Patrick. Still getting my head around wordpress – didn’t think anyone would find this site yet. Still has a fair bit that needs tweaking!

21 02 2010
Patrick Conboy

Someone clicked the State link from here and it registered on the dashboard so that’s how I found your blog 🙂

Looks good so far!

Leave a Reply

