Strobist Shoot 2 : Sweet Jane

5 06 2010

Today marked the beginning of a summer plan. Get bands, interview them and do a quick photoshoot. Unfortunately I was up ’til 2am researching background lighting options and was rather ‘fuzzy-brained’ by the time Danda & Lydia of Sweet Jane arrived. Despite a large campus at DCU, I thought it would be best to keep the shoot close to the studio. And there’s no closer than the wall outside it. It’s a pretty drab background, but we didn’t have much time to be faffing about. This is the last time I’m ever using such an appalling backdrop. I’m off to buy wallpapers for the next one…

The set up was simple. One SB-600 at 45′ camera left at 1/10 power shot through a 32″ umbrella and one behind the guys at 90′ at 1/32 power. This was done by setting them to their own individual channels (A & B).

It was an in-and-out affair. The background was prepared and set up already. The band were just placed in and the flash adjusted to them. Given that they weren’t expecting a shoot, they were cool with it and put up with my bullshitting-as-I-adjust-settings malarkey.  And while the image isn’t as stunning as I had convinced myself it would be in my head – I think I got a lot out of it. You can’t expect people to hang around for ages for photoshoots, you gotta get in quick and out quick.

But the best thing about the day (I reckon anyway) was my homemade light-guard.

Y’see, when I set up the lights the first time THIS happened:

Do you see it? No? How about now?:

There ya go. Big-ass lens flare at the bottom, in the middle. Not cool. A blemish on an otherwise mundane scene. But it’s easily solved. And with Gaffa tape too!

Take a piece of cardboard, about twice as big as your flash-gun and cover it head to toe in Gaffa tape, prefarably the black kind (Gaffa tape is light-tight and if it’s black it will not reflect any light). Then stick this to the side of your flashgun like so:

Shooting directly at it and there’s not a tiny piece of flare to be seen! Magic. As you can see in the top image, it worked too. It helps direct the light to where you need it, but stops it going where you don’t. You can buy stuff like this and it will attach easily, but you could just as easily buy a rake of velcro and gaffa tape once and you’d never have to set foot into a camera shop for it. And if you’re like me, not going into a camera shop will save you lots of money.

There ya go. One down – loads more to come. Band Two this Friday coming…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

